Hello, I'm Ali

A fervent autodidact

I'm learning Web development to become a full stack developer

See ProjectsCurrent Skills



  • HTML5
  • CSS3
  • JavaScript ES6
  • React.js


  • Node.js
  • Express.js
  • Next.js
  • MongoDB


  • Git
  • NPM/Yarn
  • Webpack/Babel
  • Scrum/Agile

JavaScript is my first language and getting competent at it before moving to another is my most immediate goal.

React.js is my preferred library. I use it for the UI on all my learning projects.

CSS frameworks most used:
  • Bootstrap
  • Material-UI
  • React-Materialize

I also like CSS-in-JS solutions like Styled Components.

Writing JSX is so much better than writing HTML.

Most backend projects are not included here, some examples:

  • Simple Chat app using Socket.io
  • Web scrapping with Cheerio.js and Puppeteer.js.
  • Various REST APIs with express.js.
  • JSON-server for fake REST API.
  • GraphQL for API query and manipulation.

Active Project: Full stack MERN app with authentication

Quiz App

Find out how much you know about JavaScirpt

Card image

Lyrics Finder

Search for a song lyrics using a free API

Card image

Movies Page

Call themoviedb's API with react hooks

Card image

Github Finder

Use github's API to search for a user

Card image

Speed Typing

Beat the timer by typing a word

Card image

Issue Tracker

Track issues with React

Card image


Generate a random quote and tweet it

Card image

Game of Life

Conway's Game of Life with react.js

Card image

ToDo App

The famous CRUD example

Card image

Weather App

How is the weather in your city

Card image

Image Search

Search PixaBay for images

Card image

RPS Game

Rock Paper Scissors against the Computer

Card image
  • All projects are created with the officially supported cli create-react-app.
  • All projects are hosted and deployed to github using gh-pages.
  • Examples with API calls use free services, therefore they are slower.
  • Sources: Youtube, Udemy, FreeCodeCamp.
  • This portfolio is created with Next.js

My name is Ali, I'm a syrian guy living in Germany since 2014.
Before that I lived in Abu Dhabi (UAE) for 6 years.
Before that I lived in Syria for 26 years.

I spent the first couple of years in Düsseldorf learning the German language, after reaching C1 level and modestly passing the TestDAF (Test Deutsch als Fremdsprache) I moved to Berlin hoping that my german language is good enough to study Computer Science at the Free University of Berlin (FU-Berlin) , unfortunately I didn't pass the test.
Shortly after I was offered an alternative path to becoming a programmer, a Duale Ausbildung, where I attend a school (Oberstufenzentrum) for 1 week for every 3 weeks I spend at a company where I train to become a developer.
The training ended after 6 months.

In 2018 I decided to learn at home, following online tutorials, reading and learning about modern web development and solving coding challanges.

This portfolio is a partial reflection of my progress and it will be updated with new projects in the future.

Curriculum Vitae

  • 2017 – Now



    • Making as many apps as possible.
    • Learning new technologies with each new app.
    • Reading about modern web development.
    • Scouting the market for needed skills.
    • Building a portfolio.
  • 03/17 – 09/17

    Duale Ausbildung


    School:OSZ-imt , Company:Native Instruments
  • 2014 – 2016

    Language School